GoDaddy ads bomb

GoDaddy controversial Superbowl ads scored the lowest on the USA Today ad meter. I hosted a Superbowl Party and everyone of my friends hated them.

Everytime another GoDaddy ad aired, it was time for a potty break or to get more to eat. “Why would they air these ads when lots of kids are watching?” A friend asked everyone while they were getting more food to gnosh.

I have no idea but I’m speculating that these ads were created by an out-of-touch 50ish-year-old wannabee back in the frat house ad creative. The ads that drew the biggest ratings from my mixed crowd of ages, races and genders were the Etrade baby ads. My favorite was the Doritos ad where the kid tells the guy to be careful around his mama. I saw that only once during the game and wanted to see that ad again.

GoDaddy is pleading with people online to watch its banned ads. I would rather watch the Doritos ad and even the ad with Betty White again before I watch GoDaddy. GoDaddy can go away!

My favorite ad:

What was your favorite Superbowl ad?

8 Responses to “GoDaddy ads bomb”


  1. 1 fiendish February 9, 2010 at 4:55 pm

    You’re SO-O-O-O-O close. The ads were actually the brain-child of a 50-ish woman (sorority wannabe) and, of course, Bob Parsons, a 50-ish frat wannabe. Right on the mark. Scary! They are pandering to what they *think* is their market, yet their customer outflow is greater than their customer inflow — except for the 2-3 weeks following Super Bowl, when they try to make up for it.

  2. 3 Erich February 9, 2010 at 5:35 pm

    Go-Daddy’s market is geared towards “Men” thats where they get the attention of and thats why go-daddy is succesfull as they are because they know men will come to there website because of there ads. they might not be the most popular but they will probably get the most clicks on there site.

    even the careerbuilder.com one wanted to make you gag

    • 4 haywoodmarcom February 9, 2010 at 5:58 pm

      None of the guys at my party liked it either. Hmmmm….

      • 5 amysioux February 10, 2010 at 3:26 am

        I’m a Go-Daddy customer (as are many of my women friends) but we all hate their marketing. Fortunately I only have go to their Web site every two years to renew my domains. (An awfully designed site…) Perhaps a competitor should come up with a pricing and marketing scheme that will at least get them noticed. I, for one, would check it out.

      • 6 haywoodmarcom February 10, 2010 at 3:06 pm

        One of my customers is a GoDaddy customer. The interface is unwieldy. Every time I update his website, it takes me like 15 minutes to find the link to the management side. Very unfriendly.

      • 7 amysioux February 11, 2010 at 3:00 am

        I agree, not to mention UGLY. But their domains are cheap and I’m frugal. And since you asked, my favorite SB commercial was the Doritoes one with Betty White. Hilarious! I also very much loved to see Tim Tebow and his mom — very tasteful and thought provoking if you went to the Website at the end of the commercial. The funniest was during the after game show — it was hilarious but it was for SOAP! I guess they couldn’t afford prime time real estate. Too bad.

  3. 8 Jennifer February 10, 2010 at 2:39 am

    I’m with you Leilani! From most of the Discussions I heard about the GoDaddy ads at work and on the radio, it seems that they still get the attention of the male viewing audience, but not their praise by any means. Add that to the fact that they continue to alienate any self respecting female, and they’re about to find themselves in the same shoes that Burger King is in now: trying to win back their customer base. As for my favorite ad, I thoroughly enjoyed the Doritos ad as well!


Leave a Reply

Tell us your email address to subscribe to MarketSmarts. When I have a fresh post, I'll send you an email!

Join 3 other followers

Leilani Haywood Tweets

Error: Twitter did not respond. Please wait a few minutes and refresh this page.


